CfP: Symposium on Principles of Database Systems (Scottsdale, Arizona)

14 Jul 2011 - 00:00


May 21-May 23 2012, Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

The PODS symposium series, held in conjunction with the SIGMOD conference series, provides a premier annual forum for the communication of new advances in the theoretical foundations of database systems. For the 31st edition, original research papers providing new insights in the specification, design, or implementation of data-management tools are called for.

Topics of Interest

Topics that fit the interests of the symposium include the following (as
they pertain to databases):

* languages for semi-structured data; search query languages;
* distributed and parallel aspects of databases;
* dynamic aspects of databases;
* incompleteness, inconsistency, and uncertainty in databases;
* schema and query extraction; data integration; data exchange;
* provenance; workflows; metadata management; meta-querying;
* data mining and machine learning techniques for databases;
* constraints; privacy and security; Web services;
* automatic verification of database-driven systems;
* model theory, logics, algebras and computational complexity;
* data modeling; data structures and algorithms for data management;
* design, semantics, and optimization of query and database languages;
* domain-specific databases (multi-media, scientific, spatial, temporal,

In addition, we especially welcome papers addressing *emerging database environments and applications*. An External Review Committee will assist the Core PC (listed further below) in reviewing papers in the following multi-disciplinary areas of particular interest to this edition of PODS.

-- Querying and Mining of Unstructured Data:
Anhai Doan (Kosmix & U. Wisconsin), Aristides Gionis (Yahoo! Labs), Djoerd Hiemstra (Twente), Stefano Leonardi (University of Rome La Sapienza), Evimaria Terzi (Boston University)

-- Web Services, Web Programming and Data-Centric Workflow:
Wil van der Aalst (Eindhoven), Anders Møller (Aarhus), Farouk Toumani (ISIMA), David Walker (Princeton), Karsten Wolf (Rostock)

-- Learning of Data Models and Queries:
Deepak Agarwal (Yahoo! Labs), James Cussens (York U.), Amol Deshpande (U. Maryland), Kristian Kersting (Fraunhofer Institute IAIS, U. Bonn)

-- Cloud Computing and Next-generation Distributed Query Processing:
Shivnath Babu (Duke), Phillip Gibbons (Intel Labs), Monica Lam (Stanford), Boon Thau Loo (U. Penn), Volker Markl (TU Berlin)

-- Semantic, Linked, Networked, and Crowdsourced Data:
Panos Ipeirotis (NYU), David Karger (MIT), Carsten Lutz (Bremen), Boris Motik (Oxford)

Important Dates:

  Abstract submission: 20 November 2011
  Manuscript submission: 27 November 2011
  Notification: 15 February 2012

Submission Guidelines

Submitted papers should be at most twelve pages, including bibliography, using reasonable page layout and font size of at least
9pt (note that the SIGMOD style file does not have to be followed). Additional details may be included in an appendix, which,
however, will be read at the discretion of the PC. Papers longer that twelve pages (excluding the appendix) or in font size smaller than 9pt risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

The submission process will be through the website. Note that, unlike the SIGMOD conference, PODS does not use double-blind reviewing, and therefore PODS submissions should be eponymous (i.e., the names and affiliations of authors should be listed on the paper).

The results must be unpublished and not submitted elsewhere, including the formal proceedings of other symposia or workshops. Authors of an accepted paper will be expected to sign copyright release forms, and one author is expected to present it at the conference.

Best Paper Award: An award will be given to the best submission, as judged by the PC.

Best Student Paper Award: There will also be an award for the best submission, as judged by the PC, written exclusively by a student or students. An author is considered as a student if at the time of submission, the author is enrolled in a program at a university or
institution leading to a doctoral/master's/bachelor's degree.


PODS General Chair: Maurizio Lenzereni (University of Rome La Sapienza)
PODS Program Chair: Michael Benedikt (Oxford)
Proceedings & Publicity Chair: Markus Krötzsch (Oxford)

Core Program Committee:
Mikhail Atallah (Purdue)
Toon Calders (Eindhoven)
Diego Calvanese (Free U. Bolzano)
James Cheney (Edinburgh)
Graham Cormode (AT&T Labs)
Alin Deutsch (UC San Diego)
Gianluigi Greco (Calabria)
T.J. Green (UC Davis)
Martin Grohe (HU Berlin)
Marc Gyssens (Hasselt)
T.S. Jayram (IBM Almaden & IBM India)
Daniel Kifer (Penn State)
Phokion Kolaitis (UC Santa Cruz & IBM Almaden)
Rasmus Pagh (Copenhagen)
Luc Segoufin (INRIA Cachan)
Pierre Senellart (Telecom ParisTech)
Sophie Tison (Lille)
Victor Vianu (UC San Diego)
David Woodruff (IBM Almaden)