ALLC: The European Association for Digital Humanities, 2013 Elections

9 Mar 2013 - 00:00

Dear Colleague and Member,

I am writing to let you know that the ALLC: EADH elections for 2013 are now under way.  You are receiving this email message if you have subscribed to the journal LLC in 2012, and chose either the 'Joint' or 'ALLC: EADH' membership options.  This entitles you to make a nomination, to be nominated, and if an election is required, to vote.

Nominations are now invited for three committee posts, each to serve a 3-year term.  The current members of the executive committee, Chris Meister, Espen Ore and Jan Rybicki are all standing for re-election.
All nominations require the support of two joint or ALLC: EADH members - in effect a proposer and seconder - and the written consent of the nominee.  Note that self-nomination is excluded by the constitution, and membership must be current.

All nominations should be sent to  nominations[at]

Full details of the election process are to be found on the EADH website at  Nominations may be made by email or by post. A copy of the Constitution is also available on the EADH  website.

The nomination period has now begun and will run to April 20th.  If there are more than three nominations for the committee member positions, voting will take place in May.  Results will be announced at the association's annual general meeting, which will take place during the DH2013 conference.

Nominations are also invited for the role of chair and for the role of treasurer, two of the designated officers of the association. If there is more than one nomination for a given officer's position, then the appointment of a new chair and new treasurer, from among those nominated, will be made by the committee at its July meeting in Lincoln, Nebraska, just prior to the DH2013 conference.  Paul Spence, our current treasurer, will not stand for re-election, and, as you almost certainly know, Lisa Lena Opas-Hänninen, chair since 2010, passed away in Feb.  The chair and the treasurer serve a three-year terms, subject to a single renewal, and their duties are specified in the constitution (  Anyone interested in serving in this position is encouraged to send an expression of interest, including a 1-page CV and a 250-word statement of what s/he would hope to accomplish as chair to nominations[at] no later than midnight, May 15, 2013 (GMT).  Questions about the position may be addressed confidentially to John Nerbonne, j.nerbonne[at], EADH president.

Please exercise your democratic right to make a nomination, to stand for election, and in due course to vote.  Nominations may be sent to nominations[at]

With best wishes - and I hope to see you at DH2013

John Nerbonne, acting Chair, EADH