

Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing

Annual General Meeting, 10 June 1999

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing held at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, on Thursday, June 10th at 12.30

1. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Elizabeth Burr, John Dawson, David Robey and Antonio Zampolli. Thirty-two members were present.

2. Minutes

The Minutes of the 1998 AGM were approved.

3. Matters arising

There were no matters arising from the Minutes not dealt with as separate items.

4. Officers' Reports

Chair: Harold Short commenced by describing the past year in the Association's activities as an active and exciting one. The current Officers of the Association were re-elected and the outgoing Committee members were also re-elected. Elizabeth Burr will continue to serve as co-opted member on the Committee. The main preoccupation of the Association in the past year has been the TEI and the creation of a new consortium. A transition team is to oversee the transfer of the consortium, which will be hosted by Bergen, Virginia, Oxford and Brown. The Chair then noted that Father Busa's paper, which he gave upon receiving the first Father Busa Award, would be published in volume 14.1 of the Journal. The Chairman continued on the subject of ACO*Hum, specifically the textual scholarship and formal methods workgroups, which are preparing a report on the work so far. ACO*Hum received funding for a fourth year for dissemination activities. Finally, the Chair spoke about the planned activities of the Association, which include a series of workshops, the promotion of the ELTA Software Initiative, participation in the EU fifth framework programme, activities to encourage young scholars and the promotion of the journal.

Treasurer: Jean Anderson presented the accounts and noted the healthy financial position of the Association.

Secretary: The Secretary reported on the membership figures for the past few years and noted that there are some countries and areas around Europe and the

world where membership is not very high and the Association should make concerted efforts to increase its membership. One proposed activity which will support this is the workshop scheme. The Secretary reported on the status of the scheme and the plans for arranging workshops in 2000. The Secretary then advised members that those elected committee members now serving and their years of re-election are:

2000: Lou Burnard, Paul Fortier, Michael Sperberg-McQueen **2001**: David Robey, Laszlo Hunyadi, and David Holmes

5. Publications

Marilyn Deegan presented the new look of the Journal and noted that the Editors are looking for a wide geographical and topical spread in the articles. She reported on the situation of volume 14 and the articles to be published in it. She also called more unsolicited contributions. An electronic archive, holding past papers after a short time-lag is being negotiated. The Editors are also drafting guidelines for guest editors. Marilyn Deegan also pointed out the need for a separate ALLC leaflet, promoting the Association and thus also the journal. Such a leaflet is being planned by the Committee. The Chair mentioned the Association's archives, which have been held by John Dawson and Gordon Dixon and are now to be housed at King's College.

6. Conference arrangements

The meeting expressed its thanks to John Unsworth for the conference arrangements this year. Jean Anderson and Fiona Tweedie then addressed the meeting and provided details concerning the 2000 conference, which will be held at the University of Glasgow, 21-25 July. The Programme Committee will be chaired by Paul Fortier and the Association's members will be Laszlo Hunyadi, Elizabeth Burr and John Dawson. The Chair informed the meeting that the presentations for hosting the 2001 conference had taken place, as a result of which New York University had been invited to host it.

7. Text Encoding Initiative

Michael Sperberg-McQueen reported on the creation of the new Consortium, noting that a structure allowing for open participation and ongoing maintenance of the TEI is being strived for.

8. Association Initiatives

A Committee was set up to discuss the next Father Busa Award and arrangements related to it. The Committee members are Paul Fortier, Randy Jones, Willard McCarty, Lisa Lena Opas-Hänninen and Michael Sperberg-McQueen.

9. Any Other Business

There was no other business. The meeting closed at 14.00 hours.



120601 PHV